Not a member yet? Signup, It's Free

Personal History

My name is Josh Murphy and I am 16 years old.  I  was born in Anchorage in 1999. I will be a senior next year at Grace Christian school where I have attended since Kindergarten.  I am a true “Alaskan” kid and love to be outdoors.  In the summer I love to go camping, kayaking, hiking and fishing.  In the winter I am on the slopes every chance I can get snowboarding.  I have been involved in many sports since I was 4.  I have played soccer, baseball, flag football and basketball.  I have done Jr. Nordic cross country skiing, Mighty Mites mountain biking and archery. I have also taken a flying lesson.   I am a world traveler and come from a family with a long history of military service. 
I have represented Grace Christian School in many ways.  In sports, I played basket ball and ran cross country and I have coached soccer for Grace elementary kids.  I have also been a member of three separate Mission Teams.  My first mission team was in Alaska where we visited three remote villages and helped the community with chores and did many activities with the children.  Last year, over spring break, I was on a team that went to Georgia which was a much larger scale Mission trip.  We went to the Double H Academy which is an Equine therapy ranch and a school for under privileged children from troubled families.  We taught the kids about Alaska, ministered to them, as well as 6 churches in the community, through songs and skits.  I also helped tear down and rebuild 4 horse lots, where we dug new fence posts and built 4 separate pens for the horses.  This year over spring break I plan to Georgia and work on the ranch again by helping to build a playground.  Lastly, I have been in choir since the 7th grade and have performed for many audiences and competed in state and regions.  This year I tried out for and made the Men’s Ensemble at my school.  We will sing in Carnegie hall in New York in April 2016.

Riding Goals

I started riding dirt bikes in the summer of 2014.  In 2015, I attended the Valley Rally Ninja Training in Sutton, Alaska, and took 2nd place in a race in my class.  I participated in a state race in the summer of 2015.  There was no 150 class so I raced in the 250 class and came in 9th. I participated in many city races last summer as well.   I currently own a KTM 150 and plan on continuing to ride it this summer. I want to improve my racing skills and time.  My goal is to compete in as many city and state races as I can in the summer of 2016.